Almost to the full dose

In case you aren’t familiar with how Wegovy works, it takes quite a long time to reach the full dosage of 2.4 mg weekly. In fact, here’s the schedule:

Month 1: 0.25 mg

Month 2: 0.5 mg

Month 3: 1.0 mg

Month 4: 1.7 mg (where I am now)

Month 5: 2.4 mg (the full dose)

So if you’re considering asking your doctor if Wegovy is right for you, be aware that this isn’t a super fast weight loss program. At least that’s not been my experience.

Over the course of 3.5 months I have lost weight. But at a normal rate. It’s not like when I took diet pills in the early 2000’s and dropped weight dramatically fast.

I think what has really also been surprising is how sensitive I am to strong-tasting or smelling foods – and especially surprising my sensitivity to strong smells in general has gotten even more sensitive, almost unbearable at times.

I eat normal foods and try to focus on protein as much as I can. And this week my husband and I went back to the gym. I’ve not experience a single binge eating episode since starting Wegovy, and that is incredible.

Also, much to my surprise, my desire to drink has decreased as well. Prior to starting on Wegovy I found myself getting into the habit of a nightly drink while making dinner. But now, I go many nights without it, and sometimes even if I do make a drink, I don’t finish it. Less alcohol is always a good thing for the body.

I’ve got two more shots of the 1.7mg dose before starting the full dose. I’m curious what comes next!


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started